Last Week of School!

This week is my last week at school.  I cannot believe how fast this school year has come and gone.  Each year continues to go by faster and faster, and the birth of my first child this past December only accelerated that effect.  Didn’t I just leave the hospital with him? Where did my newborn go?

And didn’t I just return from my maternity leave, which was back on March 7th? Incredible how quickly time has flown by this Spring.  Jeron just turned 5 months old this past week and I do NOT know where that time has gone.  As the school year comes to a close this week, I am reminded of how precious life is and how thankful we should all be, no matter what our circumstances.

Take, for example, the thousands of people who lost everything in the devastating storms that tore through the South just a few weeks ago.  Or Mt. Vernon High School in Iowa, just a short trip north from my husband’s hometown, who has had three students commit suicide this school year – and the agony that their community must be dealing with over the loss of its’ young people.

I am thankful for so many things:  My wonderful husband and newborn son, my extended family whom I cherish very much, a teaching job that I love, with amazing colleagues that keep me sane, and even those teenagers that file in and out of my room each day.  I’m thankful that God has blessed my family this year in so many ways, as well as comforted us through the previous year as we lost three loved ones.

As BHS graduates the Class of 2011 a week from today, I wish them well as they take the next road after high school.  I hope when they reach their thirties, they can look back and be thankful for all of the people that have supported them along the way:  family, teachers, administrators, counselors, etc…and also find a way to give back to the community that raised them.  GO YOU RAIDERS!

About slfindl

Social Studies Instructor at Bloomington High School in Bloomington, IL. Lives in Normal, IL with her husband Jeff and son, Jeron.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

